What is Young Farmers?

Essex County Federation of Young Farmers’ Clubs is part of the National Federation of Young Farmers’ Clubs, which is the UK’s largest rural youth organisation.

The National Federation of Young Farmers’ Clubs has over 23,500 members across the UK and is run by the members, for the members. Essex County Federation of Young Farmers’ Clubs currently has 10 active clubs and around 350 members, aged between 16 and 26.

Young Farmers is an organisation that provides people with fun, learning and achievement opportunities. It is a club for individuals who have a love for agriculture or rural life and remember you don’t have to be a farmer to be a young farmer!

Young Farmers structure

Feeling a little bit confused about the structure of Young Farmers? Here’s how it works!


Every Young Farmer’s Club member is affiliated to the National Federation of Young Farmers’ Clubs (NFYFC). NFYFC has a President, a Chairman, staff and a board of management. These roles include area representatives, as well as a council and steering groups.

Find out more by visiting NFYFC’s website


There are seven areas: Northern, East Midlands, West Midlands, Eastern, South East, South West and Wales.

Each county is part of an area across the UK. Every area has a committee and representatives from the counties within that area who are responsible for discussing and making decisions, reporting area decisions back to National, organising competition days and even organising events for the members.

Essex County Federation of Young Farmers’ Clubs sits within the Eastern Area.


Alongside Essex in the Eastern Area we have Bedfordshire, Cambridgeshire, Norfolk, Hertfordshire and Suffolk.

Each county has a committee, including a County Chairman and various other roles. Essex also has two County Organiser’s working in the county office.

There are several sub-committees responsible for different aspects of the county. Some of the other committees include, show, competitions, fundraising, activities etc.


Each county has their own clubs that are run purely by the members. Each club votes in a Club Chairman and Secretary at the beginning of the Young Farmers’ year in September. The Chairman and Secretary are responsible for leading the club and organising meetings. The Chairman and Secretary are also accountable for relaying back members views and ideas to the county. Each club is different – some clubs meet once a week, others meet just twice a month.

Essex clubs: Ashdon & Saffron Walden, Brentwood, Chelmsford, Colchester, Dunmow, Halstead, Maldon, Ongar, Southminster and Wix.

Meet the Essex Team

Ben Sell

County Chairman

Beth Speakman

Vice County Chairman

Lydia Freeman

F & GP Chairman

Jack Bosworth

Show Chairman

Marcus Bailey

Honorary Treasurer

Robert McGowan

County President

Mary Priest

County Organiser

Carole Cooper

Assistant to the County Organiser

Executive Committee 2019-20

Megan Cowell

Executive Secretary

Anna Cooper

Fundraising Chairman

Vic Freeman

Subscribers Chairman

Tom Leeder

Training & Development

Marcus Bailey


Amy Walker-Roy

Press Officer

Paige Mitchell & Tiff Bell

Competitions Chairmen

Beth Speakman & Owen Embleton

Activities Chairmen

Jack Garwood

Social Media

Felicity Bradbeer

Magazine Editor

Ben Cove & Josh Cook

Countryside Chairmen

Marcus Bailey & Ben Sell

EA Reps

Sam Jones


Dan Low